Love Jones

I just recently watch the 90’s classic “Loves Jones” written and directed byTheodore Witcher, one of the most well put together films in history, in my opinion. This movie has a classic love story plot, with leading actor Larenz Tate as Darius Lovehall, and actress Nia Long as Nina Mosely. There is also a great supporting cast too, with actors Isaiah Washington and Bill Bellamy. This movie contains great poetry, music, drama, and comedy, it’s  guaranteed to grab your attention from the first scene when Darius reads his “Brotha to The Night” poem. I strongly recommend this movie for aspiring poets, it will give you some great motivation. I was only 7 years old when this movie came out, but I remember hearing about it just never seen it before. I’m glad I waited to see it now cause I probably wouldn’t have understood it. This movie has great intellectual properties about it as well. In my opinion movies like this rarely exist anymore. During the 90’s some of the best movies were made, movies like “Love and Basketball”, “Ink Well”, “The Best Man”, “The Wood”, and many others. Those are examples of good solid movies with substance to them. I encourage people my age to see this movie if you haven’t already.

Darius and Nina start out just kickin it, but end up falling in love, ultimately  having a Loves Jones for one another.

Movie Quotes:

  • Nina:You always want what you want when you want it. Why is everything so urgent with you?
  • Darious:Let me tell you somethin’. This here, right now, at this very moment, is all that matters to me. I love you. That’s urgent like a motherfucker.
  • “All of these people running around here jumping, skipping, falling in love…falling in love ain’t shit. Somebody talk to PLEASE about how to stay there…”
  • “People who say love does not exist have acually exceeded the posibility”

Dariou’s Brotha to The Night poem:

One response to “Love Jones

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

